top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Effect of Wage Increase on Chapter 13 Plan?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Effect of Wage Increase on Chapter 13 Plan?

I'm a newbie, and am hoping to qualify for a Chapter 7, but I'm rather close to failing the means test (sections 2 and 3) in Chapter 7. My actual disposable income, though, is very near zero. As a result, I want to know what I'm up against if I'm forced into a Chapter 13.

My primary concern right now: I'm likely to get some wage increases and my wife is likely to start working over the next 12 - 24 months.

Are these income increases likely to prompt an increase in a Chapter 13 plan? If so, I REALLY need to get into a Chapter 7.

a chapter 7 or a chapter 13 is based on income information at the time of filing, not projections of what may or may not be. If you haven't gotten increases and your wife isn't working, then file prior to those events occurring to keep you out of a chapter 13.

Comment

Originally posted by rrockinggramma View Post
      a chapter 7 or a chapter 13 is based on income information at the time of filing, not projections of what may or may not be.
      Unfortunately, Ch 13 case law decisions since 2005 have made future income a part of the Ch 13 game in some of the bankruptcy districts across the US.

Many Ch 13 trustees will instruct their filers in writing as a part of their plan that they must report income increases after filing (how much of an increase must be reported is determined by the individual trustee). Although it's unusual, if the new income increase is above 10% of what was reported at filing and expenses do not increase proportionately with the new income, it is possible that the trustee can go back to the court and request the additional disposable income be added to the Ch 13 payment.

Frankly this doesn't happen very often, but it is a possibility.