Adding owed taxes for 2009.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adding owed taxes for 2009.

If you know a ballpark estimate of what you will owe the IRS for this year, can you add it into your schedules? I want to file in October.

Originally posted by optimistic1 View Post
    If you know a ballpark estimate of what you will owe the IRS for this year, can you add it into your schedules? I want to file in October.
    I haven't researched it, but my instinct is that you don't owe the taxes for this year yet. They are due quarterly first, and then any balance is due on April 15 of next year. So the question becomes: Can you include a future debt that you don't owe yet? I'd say 'no' as a shoot-from-the-hip answer.
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Besides, the IRS debt is non-dischargeable for a certain time period. There is a good sticky on the IRS time frame allowed and the criteria used posted by HHM for reference.
      Filed CH 7 9/30/2008
      Discharged Jan 5, 2009! Closed Jan 18, 2009

I am not an attorney. None of my advice is legal advice in any way..

Comment

Originally posted by optimistic1 View Post
        Can you add it into your schedules?
        I haven't seen any Chapter 13 in which a debtor added the current year tax liability. I think I saw a case or two, in which a Debtor added tax liability incurred shortly after filing their case and including it in their Plan. Now, I don't remember what "shortly" was, but they certainly didn't do this every year of their Plan.

Remember, your plan can be modified after notice and hearing.
        Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
        Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog