top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What happens to judgments when you file BK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What happens to judgments when you file BK?

If you have uncollected outstanding judgments (for CC) against you when you file for chapter 13, what happens to those judgments? Do they get added in with other unsecured creditors that you repay during the BK or are the judgments eliminated without needing to be repaid during BK?

If your cc judgments are for wage garnishments, then the wage garnishments will stop when you file your 13.

However, if the cc judgments placed a lien on one of your secured assets (usually your home), then at the successful end of your plan in 3-5 years you owe nothing to the creditor but still have to petition the court to have the lien removed from your property so when you decide it's time to sell, the empty lien doesn't make selling your asset harder.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

I had 2 of those judgments when I filed. I took my paperwork of filing with my case number (original) and showed it to the court clerk. They made copies and put it in the file and also filled out a sheet for the judge that stated that this debt was now included in bk and all collection was suspended without prejudice (meaning if I didn't complete they could come after me)