Preferential Payment...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Preferential Payment...

Do preferential payments only become a concern in Chapter 7? If going with Chapter 13, are they still an issue?

Thanks!
    Attorney Retained/Paid: 1-4-10
    Online CCC-Completed & Cert Received: 1-8-10
    Filed Chapter 7 1-18-10.
    341 3-10-10 ~~~ Last Day to Object: 5-10-10

Originally posted by Faust View Post
    Do preferential payments only become a concern in Chapter 7? If going with Chapter 13, are they still an issue?
    Pre-filing preferential payments to unsecured creditors or insiders are an issue in both Ch 7 and 13. Any payment over $600 made to an unsecured creditor during the 90 days before filing can be suspect. Any transfers of cash, assets, or properties to an insider going back a year can be suspect, even if the transfer was done innocently at the time.

Are you concerned about a payment you've made that could be considered preferential?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Can be a factor in chapter 13, but as with any asset issue, you can usually reconcile the problem through the payment plan

For example, if you paid back Grand Ma the $5K you borrowed and filed Chap 13 BK within 1 year, so long as your chapter 13 pays at least $5K over the 60 months, you should be ok.
      Last edited by HHM; 11-23-2009, 05:18 AM.

Comment

My concern is payments made under pressure from one cc issuer over another.
        Attorney Retained/Paid: 1-4-10