Help-Certified Payment Sent

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help-Certified Payment Sent

Please help as I am new to all of this. I mailed in my first chapter 13 payment via certified mail. I checked usps.com to confirm delivery and the website states a notice was left. Does this mean whomever picks up the mail for the trustee just hasn't signed for it yet? Has anyone ever come across this? I am scared because my payment is due 01/24. If the trustee's office doesn't sign for it, then it looks like I didn't make my payment. I plan on calling my lawyer in the am and the trustees office. I am in Fla Middle District and the payments are mailed to TN.

You may have unwittingly slowed things down by requiring a signature.

I would stick to first class mail. Things tend to show up on 13datacenter several days later than their actual posting date.
    filed chapter 13..confirmed...converted to chapter 7...DISCHARGED!

Comment

I was thinking about not sending my mortgage payment and overnighting another chapter 13 payment via overnight delivery signature not required. Let's see what the lawyer says tomorrow. But, if anyone has comments, please post.

Comment

The certified mail notice is probably sitting in the trustee's p.o. box. I am sure the trustee's office will pick up mail between now and the 26th. In fact, they may have already picked it up but the USPS system hasn't been updated yet. I would be surprised if the trustee's office didn't pick up mail on a daily basis. I think it's too soon to worry. Before you call your attorney, at least be sure to check USPS website again tomorrow morning. For tonight, relax and don't lose any sleep over this.
        LadyInTheRed is in the black!
        Filed Chap 13 April 2010. Discharged May 2015.
        $143,000 in debt discharged for $36,500, including attorneys fees. Money well spent!

Comment

You guys and gals sure know how to make us newbies feel at ease. Thank you soooo much.

Comment