Bonus question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bonus question

I filed for Chapter 13 today in Florida. There is a possibility that I may receive a performance bonus in my paycheck next week. I haven't been told yet whether I am getting a bonus or how much it may be and I have no history of receiving bonuses, as this is my first year with the company I work for. I am eligible for up to $7000, but it is in no way guaranteed. I asked my atty about this and since I have no idea as to amount or probability of a bonus, we did not list it as an expected increase in income. He said we'll cross that bridge when/if we get there. I understand this is considered income received during the plan and that the trustee will probably want the money. But I would rather pay the entire thing in one lump sum than have it increase my monthly payments. Would that be possible? Also, will the trustee take all of it or would I possibly be permitted to keep a portion of it?
    Filed Ch 13 - 2/2010
    341 meeting - 4/2010
    Confirmed! - 6/2010

Until you have the bonus in hand and know what the amount is, there is not too much you can do right now. A Plan cannot be based on an event that has not yet occurred or guessing as to the amount of a bonus, etc. When you get the bonus, contact your attorney immediately as your Plan may have to be modified.

"A credit card is a snake in your pocket"

Comment

Bonus

When you get your bonus, contact your attorney, they will know based on your circumstances and Trustee if you need to surrender the bonus.

I just got my bonus, and was able to keep it, I hope the same for you.
      Filed 9/14/09
      Confirmed 12/11/09

Comment

I was also worried about the same thing. Actually during the 341 meeting one of the questions asked was about bonuses. I answered truthfully and said that my bonus was not guaranteed and was not sure if I would get one this year. Nothing else was asked and the trustee said nothing else about it).