Getting ready to file chapter 13

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting ready to file chapter 13

I'm getting ready to file chapter 13 and read some of the post regarding credit unions and them freezing accounts. I have my one car financed through my credit union. The payments are up to date but I'm wondering if I file and they get notice, they will freeze my checking and savings account. I have about $3k in my savings (tax refund) and $2500 in my checking. I also have my paycheck direct deposit to my checking account. That could really screw me up if thats true. anyone?

Yes they can and will do it. The first thing I tell my clients to do is to open a bank account with a bank that they do not owe any money to, withdraw from their current bank and put everything in the new bank accounts.
    Just don't open accounts with Wells Fargo or Chase - they freeze accounts with a balance on the date of BK filing.

William
    I am an attorney, but I am just not your attorney.
    As such, any statement is not intended to create an attorney/client relationship.

Comment

Even if my car payments are up to date?

Comment

Pete - sorry about that, I missed the 'I am current' part. If you are current on your payments then I don't suspect they will do it. If you plan to reaffirm the debt on the car then you should be fine. Only worry about it if you plan to surrender it.

William
        I am an attorney, but I am just not your attorney.
        As such, any statement is not intended to create an attorney/client relationship.

Comment

Personally, I wouldn't take a chance. I would open other accounts as a safeguard. Especially for your direct deposit. And put a chunk of cash on a pre-paid debit card.

Comment