How do they know?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do they know?

How does the trustee know if you get a new job or get overtime or a raise? I'm just wondering. Other than seeing the information on the next years tax return.....

Originally posted by sassiebaz View Post
    How does the trustee know if you get a new job or get overtime or a raise? I'm just wondering. Other than seeing the information on the next years tax return.....
    Seeing the annual tax returns is the typical way most Ch 13 trustees keep track of what is happening with their filers' income. How the trustee reacts to changes varies a great deal across the country.

Also keep in mind that your trustee can ask for copies of your current financial records any time during your 13. However, unless there is some suspicion of fraud, 99% of the time this doesn't happen.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Ask your attorney about what is expected of you during the plan. Our attorney made it very clear during our meeting, as well as in yearly letters, that all changes in income (either increase or decrease) must be revealed. It is also standard in our district to send the trustee our income tax returns.