Repayment amount question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Repayment amount question

I've been reading through this section but it's all pretty daunting. Up until today my attorney thought I was a ch 7, but I got a balloon payment (five paychecks - I'm a teacher and we don't get paid over the summer) and it looks like that check will put me $3000 over a chapter 7. I'm really upset about having to do a 13, especially since the "snapshot" they're looking at doesn't represent my real income. But, if I do have to do a 13 and I'm that close to the edge is there an "average" monthly payment that I should start to wrap my brain around?
    Here's our expense breakdown:
    Family of 4
    Take home pay: Apr $4,400 a month
    2100 mortgage
    1600 child care
    750 student loans
    1000 other expenses (gas, electricity, food, phone, etc.)
    $44,000 credit card debt (950 a month in just min. payments)

So, on average we're between $1000 and $2000 behind every month.

(Sidenote: we can't/won't pull the kids from daycare because my husband is actively looking for work and this is the only place around us that works around my schedule, doesn't charge us in the summer -when I'm off from teaching - and most importantly, that we trust. Oh, and it's the cheapest around us for two kids.)

You are not disqualified from a Chapter 7 just because you are over median. You need to complete the entire means test to determine if you qualify. If you don't pass the means test, perhaps you can wait to file until a few months of no income balances out the balloon payment enough to bring you below median. Also, if you received the balloon in July, it is not part of your 6 month look back if you file before the end of the month.