Recent Supreme Court Case Decision - Impacts Debtors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recent Supreme Court Case Decision - Impacts Debtors

I just read the entire Supreme Court case of a debtor, Stephanie Kay Lanning, that was decided by the Court on June 7 of this year.

I then read another case of a debtor named David Andrew Darrohn, decided in the US Court of Appeals - 6th District (California) on July 22.

Both of these cases will lead to HUGE impacts on how Courts decide what is included on Schedules I & J (but have no impact on the Means Test.)

Here is the summary if you do not want to read them in full.

UNDERSTAND I AM NOT A LAWYER AND THIS IS JUST MY OPINION!

--------------------------------

MEANS TEST
    As I mentioned above, there is no mention of changes to the Means Test. Remember, the Means Test has a simple function. It determines using a formula if there is a Presumption of Abuse for Chapter 7 cases.

The Court makes their ultimate decision based on what is found in Schedules I (income) and J (expenses).

SCHEDULE I - INCOME
    The Lanning case was one where Ms. Lanning received a one-time bonus in the last 6 months prior to filing. The Trustee wanted her to include this as income on her Schedule I. The Court disagreed and said that income is actually "projected income." Just because she received a one-time windfall, the Court decided she should not have to include that in her "projected income" because there was no basis that she would ever receive that bonus again. This helped out Ms. Lanning and significantly reduced the amount she had to pay in her Chapter 13. Note here that her Means Test (past 6 month average) income and her Schedule I (projected) income ended up to be very, very different.