auto finance while in Chapter 13?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

auto finance while in Chapter 13?

We filed 12/09 and received confirmation 1/10. We have all debt included in our plan payments except a car loan. We pay it directly to the bank every month.

As life goes, we're getting to make the last payment next month on a loan I've been paying for five years....the transmission goes out. It's horrible timing for about a thousand different reasons, but I'll spare you that saga.

I've tried to research my heart out this week and I feel like I'm majorly failing. I obviously need to clean up some errors on our credit report. I finally worked up the courage to check them last night and I'm trying to sort out what's right and wrong and all that jazz.

Unfortunately, I don't have time for that. I have a car that won't move, is going to cost a few thousand to fix, and already has way over 200k on it and a host of other problems. I need another car STAT. I contacted my lawyer and was told that I need to secure some kind of financing, rates, make and model, and send all the details to my trustee for approval. I need to keep it in the $5k range, which even with an insanely high interest rate, would keep the payment around what we have now.

I thought it would be easier to find a lender and see if we could get pre-approved, then find a vehicle.

Every lender for bad credit/ bankruptcy requests something like: the loan must be for at least $7500, the car must be newer (within 7 years), bankruptcy must be discharged, etc.

I've found some bad credit lenders, but they won't allow me to apply directly, I have to use one of their dealerships. I don't want to apply to every dealership in town and get 10 hits on my credit. It doesn't need anymore damage!