Tax returns and chapter 13

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax returns and chapter 13

I am new to this (just past my 341 but not confirmed yet) and I have a question about tax returns. I just wonder if anybody has any ideas. Do I have to turn in a copy of the return to the trustee each year that I am in the 13? Does the trustee and/or your attorney usually notify you when to do this?

I am also self-employed and my income can vary. If my gross income is slightly lower than my schedule J does this give me a greater chance of dismissal? (Though this year 2011 I would probably be closer to this schedule J since my business has much less overhead..ie. I had to let my employee go last year.)

Then, if by some chance this year 2011 I ended up with an increase in income, does the trustee adjust your plan into having you pay more?

Thanks in advance.

this is such a hard question to answer as it all depends on your trustee and your amount of payback.... some trustees want it all and some are very understanding.... some want a copy of your tax return and some don't. Best thing to do is ask your atty... he/she should know how your trustee acts and what his/her demands are.

tons of luck to you!
    Filed 7/17/10 1st 341 8/17/10 2nd 341 9/16/10 1st confirmation 10/06/10 2nd confirmation 11/10/10 Bar Date 11/15/10 3rd and final confirmation hearing Dec 8 and acceptance of plan Dec 29 2010....

Comment

Originally posted by lillymarlene View Post
      I just wonder if anybody has any ideas. Do I have to turn in a copy of the return to the trustee each year that I am in the 13? Does the trustee and/or your attorney usually notify you when to do this?