Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Current employer acquired by large company which is creditor in my chp13

Good morning,

I've run into a unique scenario with my current employment due to my Chapter 13. Let me start with I've been working at my current employer for about 28 months, they have been aware of the Chapter 13 bankruptcy for the 7 months I've been in it. To this point there has been no issues due to my filing. The interesting part is our company has been acquired by a giant. We are being moved over with same management and job, pay etc. The kicker is the new employer is a creditor of 1700 in my active Chapter 13. I know the law forbids letting someone go specifically for filing a bankruptcy but in this type of scenario is it any different or am I still protected by the laws. I work in the computer industry doing network security and my new employer is not a financial tservices company. My current employer does background and credit checks every 2 years and happened to run another on me 1 month back so from what I've been told they are using what they have on us for any type of checks. I know I'm paranoid to begin with and that within 2 weeks of the close of the deal most likely I would know if my credit were an issue but I'm wondering if anyone out there knows if being acquired by a listed creditor is a conflict of interest to the point where a loophole would exist to let an employee go. They were being paid ontime every month until I filed where obviously all creditors had to be added and stopped paying.

Anyway, if anyone has had a similar situation or knows what the law would be with regards to this I would truly appreciate the input.

My lawyer seemed to think they could not fire me as the debt was not acquired while working for the new owner.

Thanks in advance.
    Filed 6-29-2010
    341 Meeting 8-30-2010
    Confirmed 9-17-2010 100% 60 months 1375 per month including Student Loans