Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Discharge Questions

Hi all!
    Thank you for this forum. This is my first time posting because I didnt find my answers by researching so thought I would ask all of you.
    We live in Georgia and we are in a 3 yr plan at 0% payback to unsecured and only have a $100 balance left to our lawyer. The plan was file on 3/6/2008 and confirmed on 5/22/2008.
    Which date would be the 3 year mark? I looked over our ledger and we made our first payment in March 2008. I know we have a $100 balance left but wouldnt our trustee be sending us something if we were this close to done?
    My lawyer said to continue paying until audit and then we would receive a refund but since we are 0% unsecured doesnt that mean they will keep extra and apply to the unsecured?
    Also I havent filed our tax returns yet since we never got them back the last 3 years but I sat down today and did them and it looks like $4000 refund, will they keep that too even with only $100 remaining?
    I thought this would be a easy ending since we did everything asked the last 3 years but starting to get worried that we are more than half way through March with no updates and my lawyer only gives vague answers.
    We really need that $4000 and he keeps saying refund after audit but I dont see that happening with only secured paid off. ggrrr so frustrated!!!
    Thank you everybody!

Hi!

It seems that not all states and not all Trustees do things the same. I will tell you how it is happening with me, and it will at least give you some expectations:

I was where you are in December of 2010. I had a balance of $240 left to pay into the plan and I had tons of questions and no answers. This is how mine played out: