What is a base balance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is a base balance?

Hello. After thinking that I would be done with this plan next October - I found out today that I have a base balance of $8700 that I still have to pay. What is that? My attorney's assistant advised me to discuss it with my trustee. I have been staying under the radar for over three years now and really didn't want to contact her right now. Has anyone had to deal with this? Thank you.

If the "her" in question has initials of njw, then there really is no reason not to contact the office and have them explain it to you, although I would think that is your attorney's job. I had many dealings with my trustee through the course of my Ch13, and her office was never anything but helpful, courteous, and professional.

John
    Filed Chapter 13 pro se: 9/30/2008, 341 Meeting: 11/15/2008, Plan Approved: 1/6/2009, 100% of all claims paid: 10/19/2010. Trustee closed case: 11/5/10 DISCHARGED: 11/18/10

Comment

You should not have to contact the trustee. That's your attorney's job. Talk to your attorney instead of the assistant.
      LadyInTheRed is in the black!
      Filed Chap 13 April 2010. Discharged May 2015.
      $143,000 in debt discharged for $36,500, including attorneys fees. Money well spent!

Comment

Originally posted by arlington View Post
        Hello. After thinking that I would be done with this plan next October - I found out today that I have a base balance of $8700 that I still have to pay. What is that? My attorney's assistant advised me to discuss it with my trustee. I have been staying under the radar for over three years now and really didn't want to contact her right now. Has anyone had to deal with this? Thank you.