top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will Husband be able to Keep Motorcycle in CH 13?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Will Husband be able to Keep Motorcycle in CH 13?

Okay... I have asked out attorney this but does not sound right. He said that because we don't have equity in the motorcycle - owe more than it's worth right now - that we can keep it. The leinholder for bike did request proof of insurance and current mileage through our attorney which I sent.

My husband says that he thinks that the trustee would require us to turn it back to the lien holder so that payment amount (about $250) could go to the trustee.

A motorcycle is a "luxury item", unless it is your primary means of transportation. Generally, you are not allowed to continue making payments on luxury items in a 13 unless you are already paying back 100% in your plan.
    Any information posted by me is for general informational purposes only. While I am an attorney, I am not YOUR attorney and any information I provide is not legal advice.

Comment

Well, that's a bummer. It is not his primary means of transportation but he does use it for his 26 mile drive to work when weather permits to save gas. I think I will send an email to our attorney and ask the question more directly. Thanks!

Comment

Yep, trustee will have a hard time allowing the payment. So, just be prepared.

Now, generally, what happens here is that you get a friend a family member to say they will keep making payments...and then you just pad the budget in certain areas and assuming YOU have the discipline to save, you can make it so you have the ability to keep making payments, but generally, the trustee and court will not allow the motorcycle payment as a line item expense.

Comment