1 year left, buy a house afterwards?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1 year left, buy a house afterwards?

I filed a chapter 13 back in August of 09. Looking back, I could have taken care of it outside of a bankruptcy, but what's done is done. I just got a little over my head in credit cards, and my parents were paying for my car. Anyway, I'm paying 566 and filed on my car (car is now paid off within the bankruptcy. Trustee is now paying student loans (which they told me they wouldn't be paying, but what the hey!) The student loans are my next huge debt. Should be finished next year around this time. I was only in for 3 years.

Im a special education teacher, making bout 36,000 a year. Making rent payment for about 680. I really want to buy a house after my bankruptcy is over. I've been reading that I have to wait for a year after my bankruptcy is discharged...Is this true? I know this is smart, but is it necessary?

I've read that you can "afford" a house two and a half times your yearly income. So, I could afford about 100,000 dollar house. I do not want one that big. I'd like a 2 bedroom, 1 bath house around 50,000-60,000.

I may have a 1-3 percent down payment...by the time Im ready to buy.

I just looked up my credit score and a year from discharge, its 686. I had pretty good credit before the bankruptcy but not sure if it will plummet once its discharged. I've checked my score bout every 6 months to a year and its gone up ever since I've filed and have been paying.

So question...Would I be able to get a loan a few months after my bankruptcy is discharged? I understand about the high interest rate, but would someone even deal with me with being finished with a bankruptcy.

I understand that it's probably not smart to buy a house...but I just want to know if banks will look at me.

I live on the Illinois side of St. Louis. Thank you
    Chapter 13 Filed: August 17, 2009
    341 Meeting: September 29, 2009