dischargeable accounts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

dischargeable accounts

how long does an account have to be active to be dischargeable? i have just used two accounts that were 0 bal since sept 2011.

Originally posted by dagger53 View Post
    how long does an account have to be active to be dischargeable? i have just used two accounts that were 0 bal since sept 2011.
    Are you talking about credit cards? Have you filed bk already or are you planning to file in the near future?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Presuming that these are credit cards, what you used them for - along with the amount in question - might be more important than the length of time per se...

Good luck to us all.
      No person in their right mind files a Ch. 13 with lien strip pro se. I have.Therefore, please consider me insane and clinically certifiable when reading my posts, and DO NOT take them as legal advice of any kind.Thank you.

Comment

they are credit cards, i have not filed yet. i am planning on filing in 2012, sometime.

Comment

Originally posted by dagger53 View Post
          they are credit cards, i have not filed yet. i am planning on filing in 2012, sometime.
          The general rule is to be safe it's best to not to use any of your credit cards for at least 90 days before filing. \