tax refunds and ch 13

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

tax refunds and ch 13

When you get a tax refund from the IRS every year, is it pretty much gone to the trustee until the discharge of say 5 years or can you still get it every year with some exceptions?

Whether you get a refund or not depends completely on your trustee. Some take anything you get, some only take whatever is above a stated amount, and some couldn't care less and allow you to keep the refund no matter how big it is. Only experienced bk attorneys in your area will know what you can expect with your trustee. Good luck!
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

my understanding it depends on what state you live in.

Comment

In Northeast Tn,we got to keep anything under $1500.anything over that went to the plan,plan on an extra month as well due to it going through the bk department of the irs and then to the trustee.I am soo glad i dont have to put up with that anymore

Comment