House repairs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

House repairs

I was reading awhile ago that you can claim a certain percent for home repairs. Does anybody know what the percent is?

What's tax deductible in 2011 are energy-saving repairs and upgrades (unfortunately less than was allowed in 2010). The amount you get to deduct depends on the improvement.

Here's a reliable link that explains the specifics and amounts for each kind of improvement - http://www.energysavers.gov/financial/70010.html . Hope some of your house repairs are on the list!
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

I mean what can you claim on your expence list for monthly house repairs.

Comment

Mint.com (based on a University of Illinois Extension service report) suggests budgeting 1-2% of the cost of your home (and maybe more depending on age) for your yearly maintenance budget. There really is no set home maintenance amount for your Schedule J in BK because the amount you are allowed for maintenance in the Non-Mortgage portion of the Local Housing and Utilities Standards when performing the means test is usually inadequate. Your lawyer should tell you what will fly in your district.

Make saving effortless through automation, discounts and strategic spending. Learn how to save money with ease.