Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is Chapter 13 my only choice?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and this is my first time posting. I'm trying to figure out if a Ch 13 is right for me, and hoping I can get some advice on here since you all seem really knowledgeable. Here's my situation: I've got two bills that are charged off and in collections. Both are from Citicards, one's a CC with a balance of around 20K (mostly in fees since I stopped paying, but regardless...), and the other is a line of credit that's just shy of 5k. It was a typical situation, I lost my job and had to decide what bills I would pay, and the credit cards fell to the bottom of that list. I had worked out a payment plan for both accounts for a year, but when that year ended I still wasn't working full time and my minimum jumped from $190 to $700 a month. I couldn't afford it, they wouldn't work with me, and so I just stopped paying. That was about a year ago. They were charged off around October of last year, I got letters from collection agencies, and send debt validation letters. Last week I was served papers for a suit filed for the $5k line of credit, and so I'm expecting one for the $20k CC any day.

With the exception of these two accounts, all of my other accounts are in good standing. Here's a break down of my other debt:
    Car loan- about $1100 left to go
    CC 1- about $65 (plan to pay off this week)
    CC 2- about $1300
    student loans- over $40k split between federal and private