Discharged - Reaffirmation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Discharged - Reaffirmation

Okay... so I thought this madness was over, but I stand corrected. After completing my plan and deciding it is now time to start fixing my credit, I got a copy of my report. To my surprise, my house that I've been paying on for 13 years is no longer showing up on my report. I was in a 100% payback with my mortgage not included in the plan. I called my mortgage company and was told that I should have filed a reaffirmation agreement while the plan was active. I asked them what I needed to do to get this reported again and was told to re-open the case, file the agreement, then have it closed again. I then asked if the history would also be reported and was given an 'I'm not sure' answer. Grrrrrr....

Anyone have experience with this?
    Chapter 13 - 100% Payback - Filed 2/2010 - Discharged 4/2014

drew, I don't have an answer for you but I know my home equity loan no longer reports when it did until last year. I still have 8 months left, so I am very interested in anyone's answer. I didn't think in a ch13 we did reaffirmations, I thought they were for ch7. But of course I could be wrong.
    Discharged 5/2015

Comment

First, you cannot re-open a discharged case for the sole purpose of "entering" into a reaffirmation agreement.

What's more important, is that there is no reaffirmation agreement (process) in a Chapter 13. The Chapter 13 is a Reorganization of the Debtor and your Chapter 13 Plan serves as a payment contract to repay certain debts. Those debts that you surrender or are not "provided for" in the plan, are discharged (unless excluded under a section of the bankruptcy code which provides for certain debts to remain non-dischargeable).