chapter 13 and debts beyond sol

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

chapter 13 and debts beyond sol

Does anyone have experience with filing chapter 13 (because of law suit) that was served 2 weeks prior to the 4 year statute of limitations being up. Attorney says we don't pass Chapter 7 means test. My other credit cards have also just gone beyond the 4 year mark. Will they be included for payment?

I have some experience in this and an opinion, of course. I filed a Chapter 13 back in 2008. American Express filed a claim in my Chapter 13 that was over 20 years old. I initially objected and asked that the claim be expunged. The judge politely (in a consultative manner) told me to just let it stay there to make sure that, even though it wasn't mine, it was discharged!

Nothing prohibits a creditor from filing a claim in a bankruptcy. With some limited exceptions, even a discharged creditor's debt can have a claim filed (e.g. a discharged but secured debt for which the creditor had not yet taken any action can file a secured claim). You can object to claims if you have a legal reason for the object, such as expiration of the time to collect a debt under the SOL. If the creditor opposes your objection then you may need a hearing to present evidence that the claim should be disallowed.

Unless you need to payback 100% of the allowed claims -- which happens in few cases (< 5% maybe) -- your payment is based on your expenses and your disposable monthly income (DMI). Your DMI does not change based on the number of unsecured creditors that have filed. You do not need to worry about which creditors file when you are not required to be in a 100% plan. I would still file objections to claims where there are legal issues regarding the validity of the claim itself.
    Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
    Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog