Made the decision to file, now what?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Made the decision to file, now what?

I've posted before but I don't think I've ever given my complete scenario. Here it is:

Married, wife does not work, two children. Make around $50K a year. Have around $60K in credit card debt, buying a home (been there 4 years, but no equity). I am also a licensed REALTOR but I just started and have yet to make one cent. I've paid out plenty for classes and fees. Two vehicles, one paid for (nearly worthless) and one we owe $19K on (again, no equity). I've been surviving on credit cards for the last year while my wife has looked for work. I haven't taken cash advances by going to the bank and withdrawing cash, but our credit card is set up as overdraft protection and has been getting roughly $1K transferred to our checking to cover mortgage, bills, etc.. This is the same as a cash advance and I couldn't even start to add them all up. I'm also current on all of my cards (thanks to the cash advances). Now that I've made the decision to file, how long can I go without paying my credit cards? I'm stopping the overdraft protection on the credit card and have just stopped using them. A couple are in my wife's name and a couple are in mine. There is a total of four cards. I want to put as much time between now and filing as I can because of the advances. I don't have ANY of the money, it was all just used to cover bills. It was never even withdrawn. Just transferred to cover mortgage and cc minimums. How much time do I need and how crazy will the calls get? Can I try calling the cards and explaining that I need lower minimums or more time. Thanks. This forum is a life saver.

You'll need to wait at least 70 days for the burden of proof to shift from you to the Creditor on the "Cash Advances". At least 90 days on any actual CC purchases.