My Story: More confused now than ever

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Story: More confused now than ever

The bk lawyer you spoke to is correct. When both names are listed as owners on non-secured credit, it does no good for only one spouse to file bankruptcy - the lenders move on to the other co-owner and expect them to pay instead.

Since you have so much shared debt, it may be your only option to file jointly to get your fresh start as a couple.

Here's the rub - how much equity do you have in your primary home? Arizona allows $150,000 for both you - http://www.dianedrain.com/Bankruptcy...exemptions.htm

Do you have other secured assets (cars, for example) that you want to keep if you file Ch 7? And are you current on the payments for those assets currently?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Just a thought, are you sure the debt is joint or is she just listed as an authorized user? It will indicate an A somewhere beside it for authorized user. If so, all she needs to do is call and tell them she wants to be removed as an authorized user. My husband had to do this. Some gave him a problem but most were helpful.
      Filed Chap. 7 - 9/21/2007
      341- 10/29/2007

Comment

Originally posted by millerc507 View Post