Father Loaned Me Money After Filing CH7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Father Loaned Me Money After Filing CH7

I have another question. I filed on 7/17 for ch7. I had to pay the rest of my atty fee at that time which means I didn't have enough for the security deposit on a rental place. They wanted it right away and couldn't wait two weeks until I got paid because they were nervous about renting to us. My father was nice and wired the money to us. My 341 is scheduled for 8/25. Can I pay him back before then or do I have to wait until after?
    Filed: 7/17/08
    341 Meeting: 8/25/08
    Last Day of Objections: 10/24/08
    Discharged: 11/08

personally i'd talk my father into seeing that wire transfer as a 'gift' towards having a home until after your 341. then you can pay him back at a later date if you feel the 'gift' was too generous.

note i am no expert, that's just what i'd suggest.
    Filed 7/28/08, Discharged 10/29/08
    (filed pro se: nonconsumer no asset CH7)

Comment

That's what I was thinking. I hate owing money to family but I figured that was going to be the best option. Luckily he is well off with his retirement funds so it's not like he is going to be starving until he gets that money back.

Comment

If you pay him back at this time it could show preferential treatment.

How much money are we talking about? A few hundred or 1,000+? If it is the latter, maybe list him as one of your creditors (lol!) then pay him back on the side. Like Soleprop, I'm not expert though. You have to talk to your attorney.

Since you borrowed the money so recently knowing you'd file, that'd probably require you to pay him back anyway, so listing him as a creditor will demonstrate that you are being honest.

Comment

Originally posted by catdance23 View Post
          Can I pay him back before then or do I have to wait until after?