21 year old filing for BK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

21 year old filing for BK

Hi, im 21 years old and i am filing for chapter 7 bankruptcy, i have about $12,000 in credit card dept, and it has came to the point where i can no longer pay my bills, it is hard to find work, and i am also a student. I have a few questions for you guys. If i have a car thats co-signed with my mother and i still owe $9,000 will i loose the car if i file BK? also i am planing to do the BK myself (with the paper work done by a paralegal), file it myself and represent myself in court, i dont have $2,000 to pay for an attorney is this a wise idea? Any pointers could help me out?

Thanks,
    Mat

Son, you have a difficult situation at your age. Your credit will be dumped until you are about 31. In my opinion, as a cosigner for a car (stupid as I was) Mom will get a Judgment when you bk. I wish I had good news for you, but that is what I see. ‘Hub
    If I knew it all, would I be here?? Hang in there = Retained attorney 8-06, Filed 12-28-07, Discharge 8-13-08, Finally CLOSED 11-3-09, 3-31-10 AP Dismissed, Informed by incompetent lawyer of CLOSED status, October 14, 2010.

Comment

Originally posted by acidity357 View Post
      Hi, im 21 years old and i am filing for chapter 7 bankruptcy, i have about $12,000 in credit card dept, and it has came to the point where i can no longer pay my bills, it is hard to find work, and i am also a student. I have a few questions for you guys. If i have a car thats co-signed with my mother and i still owe $9,000 will i loose the car if i file BK? also i am planing to do the BK myself (with the paper work done by a paralegal), file it myself and represent myself in court, i dont have $2,000 to pay for an attorney is this a wise idea? Any pointers could help me out?

Thanks,
      Mat
      Filed Ch 7 -- July 9, 2008
      341 mtg ---- August 14, 2008
      Discharged ---- October 17, 2008
      Closed --------- December 11, 2009!