Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Collection attempt during 60 day period after 341 meeting

Hello,

Today I received a letter from an attorney representing the company which bought some of my debt. The original creditor, the new owner, and the collecting law firm were all listed correctly on my Creditor mailing matrix.

What action can I take against this firm for sending me a dunning letter after I have filed?

My understanding is that after filing chapter 7, I am protected against collection attempts.

I haven't received any notices of creditor objections since the 341 meeting (about 2 weeks ago).

Thanks!
    I AM NOT A LAWYER. I DON'T EVEN PLAY ONE ON TELEVISION. ONLY LAWYERS CAN GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. ETC., ETC!

Inform your attorney.

Comment

Take the letter to your attorney, he's gonna love this.....
      May 31st, 2007: Petition Filed by my lawyer
      July 2nd, 2007: 341 Meeting Held
      September 4th, 2007: Discharged and Closed.

Comment

peo se..

I filed pro se!

Looks like I have some quick research to do.

Is this similar to what can be done to a creditor if they receive a cease and desist letter and attempt to collect afterward?

It seems like this thread could be under COLLECTION ATTEMPTS as well...

Thanks for the help!
        I AM NOT A LAWYER. I DON'T EVEN PLAY ONE ON TELEVISION. ONLY LAWYERS CAN GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. ETC., ETC!

Comment

I assume the letter came with a contact number.

I'd call the number, when the first person answers, ask to speak to the supervisor or manager.

Tell them that they have violated the automatic stay in force for the account (give account #), tell them that bk case (give number) was filed on (give date) in the (give district) of (give State). If further attempts are made in violation of the stay I will have no choice but to pursue the full legal recourse of 1000 dollars per violation that I am entitled to.

Comment

By Mail? Email? fax?

Hey,