payoff auto loan prior to filing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

payoff auto loan prior to filing

Hello, first I want to say that I am new to this and hope I am doing this correctly. We live in KY and are looking at filing ch.7. We currently have 2 auto loans. Does anyone know if it would cause any problems with the filing if we were to payoff one of the loans prior to filing? We still owe 3 years on each loan. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Do not pay off the loans prior to filing. They then become an asset of the BK estate.

You need to check your exemptions for vehicles in KY.
    Filed CH 7 9/30/2008
    Discharged Jan 5, 2009! Closed Jan 18, 2009

I am not an attorney. None of my advice is legal advice in any way..

Comment

And look through here for preferential payments. You don't want to make any. Regular bills OK, but payoff isn't
      Filed C7 Aug 31 2008
      341 Oct 8 2008
      Discharged Dec 9 2008

Comment

As the other posters eluded to, don't put money into a potentially non-exempt asset or "partially" exempt asset! You need some pre-Bankruptcy planning.
        Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
        Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

I think there is a question that needs to be ask. that is where would you get the money to pay off the loans?
          If you have cash laying around you need to put it in something like a 401 K If you are thinking of taking it from a 401 K don't do it. Don’t touch that money.
          Chapter 7 07/30/2008
          341 09/17/2008
          Discharge 11/21/2008

Comment

don't touch that money.