top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I can keep 2nd home in chapter 7 not 13?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I can keep 2nd home in chapter 7 not 13?

I have been visiting this site for a few months now without posting. I have found this site to be a very valuable tool in understanding and dealing with the bankruptcy process. So thanks to all who have posted.

In the past week I have consulted with 2 attorney's to discuss the options available to me through bankruptcy. I was shocked to find out that I can keep my vacation home in chapter 7 but not a 13. Although technically I can keep my vacation home in a 13, I would have to pay my unsecured's 100% in my plan to do so. Since I owe unsecured's over 90k that option is virutally impossible.

However, both lawyers stated to me that since there is no equity in my vacation home (I owe 68K, worth 60K) I would be able to keep it without any objections from the trustee. They also stated that I can include the expense on my schedule J. One of the attorney's stated that he has did this successfully with many other clients. He stated that we would go in showing a severe negative in our expenses to accomplish this. While I am hoping they are right, I am finding it hard to believe that the trustee will let the unsecured's get nothing, while I retain 2 properties. Does this sound to good to be true? Yours thoughts are welcome and appreciatted.
    Chapter 13 Filed (Pro Se) - 9/30/09
    Confirmation Date - 12/1/09
    Stats - $1752/month, 29/36 completed, 4% to Unsecured, Lien Stripped 2nd Mortgage

That is absolutely true. This comes from someone who had a second property, in a Chapter 13. Your lawyers are accurate, but it's not that you can't keep property in a Chapter 13, you just need to be able to afford it!