Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mercedes Lease Question

Hi Guys

I have a mercedes that is leased. I need to keep the car (I am a realtor and I use it to drive clients around).

My lawyer told me that in my district the only reaafirms that are approved are if it is medical related. (ie. I need a special van for my handicap child)

I was told that as long as I keep the payments current I should be ok. But then I read on the boards of some car companies taking non-reaffirmed cars back.

Should I worry that the car will be taken back? (the lease is through mercedes directly)

Thank You!!!!!

When you stay current on payments, but don't reaffirm the lease then it's called a ride-through. By staying current, the lender (lessor) doesn't mind that you are no longer responsible for any debt owed on the lease.

I haven't heard that Mercedes is difficult to work with in these instances. There are some lenders like Ford Motor Credit who are harsh. However, it may be your State's non-bankruptcy laws which protect you from them repossessing the vehicle. In some States, so long as you are current, the lender/lessor is prohibited from taking any action against you. You District must be in such a State.
    Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
    Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Thank you justbroke-

I tried to google my state and didn't find anything (VA).

I am keeping my fingers crossed on this. I can just imagine a tow truck follow me while I show houses to clients!

Comment

If it's a lease, you're just going to assume the lease. There is no "reaffirmation" on a lease.
        I do not provide legal advice. All I do here is give my two cents as an opinion and at least share some of the facts that I know. Attorneys can provide legal advice, so go ask them or hire one.

Comment

Sooo,