top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Attorney Batting Practice�One, Two, Three�Opinions Please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Attorney Batting Practice�One, Two, Three�Opinions Please!

*Filed: September 23, 2009 *341: November 4, 2009 *Discharged: January 4, 2010 *Closed: January 20, 2010

Hakuna Matata...it means NO WORRIES!

I actually interviewed 5... maybe try two more?

I received different opinions from each of them... the one I just retained gave me the "warm fuzzy" feeling like he knew what he was talking about... and was confident that I'm a 7 (rental income was pushing me over the median)...

I'd say interview one or two more... but then again, I'm a newb

Comment

Your #3 attorney is right about recent credit card charges. They are not per se nondischargeable unless they are for luxury goods or cash advances of $825 or more. 11 USC 523(a)(2)(C).

But when you file bankruptcy so soon after making credit card charges that you apparently knew you were never going to pay back, you open yourself up to all kinds of potential "bad faith" challenges from aggressive creditors. The end result is that those recent charges are nondischargeable, but you also risk leaving a bad taste in the judge's mouth about you in the event you have other challenges. IMHO, if it's practical, it's always best to put 90 days between your last credit card charge and the filing of your bk petition or to confess the nondischargeability of the recent charges. Sometimes it's not practical tho. I have done it both ways for clients depending on the circumstances. It sounds like you're in good hands with #3.
      Last edited by MSbklawyer; 08-12-2009, 06:24 AM.
      Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment