X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! I have a contract after Filing for BK

Hello all,

I filed for chapter 7 on 3/3/10 in florida and my 341 is scheduled for 5/6/10

I am a realtor and had 3 real estate listings for sale.

I just went under contract on one of them on 4/13/10

My question is, if the trustee is going to try get her hands on my the commission ?

Is income after filing but before the 341 suseptible to be taken by the trustee?

I really need this income to survive and don't know what to do.

HELP NEED UR ADVICE!!!

thanks

Originally posted by scs30885 View Post
    Hello all,

I filed for chapter 7 on 3/3/10 in florida and my 341 is scheduled for 5/6/10

I am a realtor and had 3 real estate listings for sale.

I just went under contract on one of them on 4/13/10

My question is, if the trustee is going to try get her hands on my the commission ?

Is income after filing but before the 341 suseptible to be taken by the trustee?

I really need this income to survive and don't know what to do.

HELP NEED UR ADVICE!!!

thanks

The date of your filing is a snapshot of what your financial picture looked like at the time. We are allowed to make money and live after we file.

Also, just because a house went "pending" doesn't mean it has sold. You don't really earn the income until the home sale closes and you get paid.
    Filed Chapter 13 02/2006 - Confirmed 05/2006 - Discharged 09/2011
    I'm not an attorney. My replies are merely suggestions or observations, not legal advice. As always, consult with an attorney before making any decisions.

Comment

While the date of filing is a snapshot, the "listing" contracts were in the snapshot. Whether the Trustee is entitled to unearned income from a pre-petition contract is a great question. As newbie2 writes, you haven't been paid yet, and it isn't even an "A/R" at this point. You'd have to complete the closing to get paid, so it's all contingent.