Do I Still Qualify for Chapter 7?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do I Still Qualify for Chapter 7?

I'm a newbie here. Need help with this one. I have been enrolled in credit consolidation program where I've been making payments for the last six months. I've been trying to do the right thing but recently had to stop because I was having trouble paying my mortgage and normal living expenses.
    My question is this. I don't plan to file for bankruptcy till after my modification is made permanent. Will the fact that I've been enrolled in credit counseling disqualified me from filing chapter 7, provided I pass the means test? How long do I not have to make any more payments to my creditors before I can proceed with chapter 7?

Originally posted by river147 View Post
    I'm a newbie here. Need help with this one. I have been enrolled in credit consolidation program where I've been making payments for the last six months. I've been trying to do the right thing but recently had to stop because I was having trouble paying my mortgage and normal living expenses.
    My question is this. I don't plan to file for bankruptcy till after my modification is made permanent. Will the fact that I've been enrolled in credit counseling disqualified me from filing chapter 7, provided I pass the means test? How long do I not have to make any more payments to my creditors before I can proceed with chapter 7?
    Participating in a consolidation program won't prohibit you from filing for bankruptcy, nor is there any set rule about having to be behind in your payments to creditors. Many people file when they haven't missed any payments, and others file after years of missed payments.

File when it is right for you and your situation and most certainly consult with a couple of attorneys. Good luck to you!
    Filed Chapter 13 02/2006 - Confirmed 05/2006 - Discharged 09/2011