trustee fee

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

trustee fee

how are trustee fees determined? Is there a formula?

Originally posted by howdidithappen View Post
    how are trustee fees determined? Is there a formula?
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Thanks for the information but I would like information regarding trustee fees for Chapter 7. Also, the percentage is applied to what number? The amount of debt? The amount of assets? What exactly?

Comment

I think you're confused. There is no "trustee fee" in a Chapter 7. The "panel" Trustee, who liquidates the Estate, makes $60 which comes from the $299 filing fee. In addition, the "panel" Trustee can make money via a "commission" if and when the find items to liquidate and so liquidate them.

Technically, for any non-exempt asset that they find an liquidate, they get 25% of the first $5,000, then 10% of the next $45,000 (to $50K), then 5% of the next $950,000 (to $1MM), and then 3% thereafter.

This commission comes from the sale and disposition of the assets.

Why are you asking? No one ever worries about this.
        Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
        Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Sounds like a good job to have in say ohh miami or LA.
          Originally posted by justbroke View Post
          I think you're confused. There is no "trustee fee" in a Chapter 7. The "panel" Trustee, who liquidates the Estate, makes $60 which comes from the $299 filing fee. In addition, the "panel" Trustee can make money via a "commission" if and when the find items to liquidate and so liquidate them.