top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What steps can I take to minimize the chances of a creditor objecting in my bk?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What steps can I take to minimize the chances of a creditor objecting in my bk?

I am planning to file Ch 7 BK in 6-12 months and during my consultation my attorney says that a creditor might object to large cash advances I have made awhile ago. I have stopped using my credit cards and I am also going to wait another 6-12 months to file to be safe.

I have been making minimum payments for 6 months since the cash advance transactions, but during this time I have also been using the cards for regular purchases. I have only made about 1 or 2 months of minimum payments after I completely stopped using the cards. So my plan is to wait before I file.

So I wondering if there are any other steps I can take to minimize the chances of my creditors objecting?

Thank you
    Last edited by aimhighlow; 02-21-2011, 12:34 PM.

Since it's been 6 months since the cash advances and you did make minimum payments you should be in good shape. Stop using the cards and wait as long as you possibly can before you file. Time is your best friend.

Comment

I agree with keepmine. I did take out a $1,000 cash advance, but that was easily a year before filing bk. So the fact that you did make payments for a period after should work well for you. I think it is far easier for major creditors to simply write off your debt than it is to show up to a 341 hearing and object. My attorney says it is extremely rare for a company to even show up (and no creditor showed up for the dozens at my 341 hearing, nor for the 341 hearing before mine). The types that may object could be say a locally owned furniture store that just sold you $5,000 worth of furniture or something local, or if you really took your creditors for a major and purposeful ride and they want to make an example of you.