Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Means Questions

Hello,

I have a few questions about the means deductions. I tried to see if they have been answered before, but don't see these addressed.

1. Can I automatically deduct the national standard for health deductions or do I need receipts to substantiate my claim (i.e., $240 for family of 4)?

2. I am a special education teacher intern and I am in the middle of classes for my credential. I have to take classes for my employment as an intern. These classes have cost an average of $850/month, but they have been paid by student loans. Can I still deduct this under the means test?

3. My husband is a teacher and approximately $750/mo is deducted from his pay to be repaid during summer (this, making his pay the same year round). Do we have to include that income or is it considered a reasonable deduction?

4. I pay for children's private school in advance each year, not monthly. Can I still deduct the expense (limited to the approx. $150/child, my mother makes up the difference each year)? Is it reasonable? We chose a school that is close to my employment and offers before and after school daycare for much cheaper than a typical daycare.

5. Where do I (can I) put car insurance? It is mandatory in CA.

I will be retaining a lawyer; I am simply trying to ascertain if we pass the means test before paying the lawyer fees.

Thanks in advance!
    Nicole

Most lawyers will give you a free consultation and should be able to determine if you pass the means test, provided you bring ample and accurate financial information.
    Chapter 7 Filed: 04/21/2011, 341 Meeting: 05/31/2011, Report of No Distrubution: 06/02/2011, Discharged: 08/03/2011, Closed: 08/10/11

Comment

Even if an attorney won't run a means test during a free consult, they should be able to answer your questions. I can answer many of your questions.