top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will my girlfriends income be counted in my means test?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Will my girlfriends income be counted in my means test?

I'm about to file for BK.

My girlfriend is considering moving in with me.
    I understand what she pays towards the monthly expenses will be included as
    income on my means test.

However, I believe I read that her monthly income of $3500 a month
    will also be added.

Is that accurate?

Thank you
    Dennis

Is she already contributing? What does your means test look like now, vs if you were to add her to the household (bumping up the household count by 1, and also including her income?)? If you "pass" the means test now, without her, I would recommend filing now.
    Standard disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer. I am an idiot. Do not take my advice. I am not responsible for what happens if you blindly follow an idiot's advice. Blah blah and more legal stuff.

Comment

I agree with dman, it's added income. I would file before she moves in, probably unitl discharge. You will be asked if any income changes are expected. If you are way below the median income, you may be ok with both however 3500 a month is substantial income.
      Filed CH 7 4/15/11
      341 5/23/11
      DISCHARGED & CLOSED ON 7/27/11

Comment

the means test looks good.
        My income is only $2300 a month. She will be paying $500 a month. I'm not concerned about that.
        What I'm concerned about is that there have been various court ruling on what constitutes a "household".

Apparently sometimes the US Census definition of a household is" Heads on the pillow". Meaning every person
        is counted.

Sometimes the IRS definition is used, in which dependents are counted.
        In addition, there is a qualification regarding whether funds are commingled.