Can't access student loan account?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't access student loan account?

I hope this is posted in the right place, since I'm not technically "after the bankruptcy" yet...

Post chapter 7 filing, I tried to access my student loans on Sallie Mae's website and was unable to-it said my request was denied and I needed to call Sallie Mae. I thought it was a glitch, so I just tried it a few minutes ago and again, I get the same "error" message.

Is it possible that the bankruptcy is causing me to not be able to access my loans? I got a letter from Sallie Mae (student loans start to come due in December) regarding something about sending them thousands of dollars before my loans actually come due and I was trying to figure out what the heck they wanted, but I can't even log in to the website.

Anyone??

After we filed BK, all of our online account access was denied by all of our creditors. It has to do with them not violating the stay they are under during BK. It doesn't mean your loan is discharged though. You will have to call them to find out more info about the letter they sent you.
    Filed Ch 13 Feb 9, 2012, 341 meeting Mar 15, 2012, Confirmed Apr 5, 2012
    Anticipated freedom party Apr 2015

Comment

Does this apply to on line banking also? I pay all my bills though my banks on line bill paying not through the creditors web site> Pam

Comment

Memama, it is totally normal to lose online access. Once you get your discharge it is likely you will get your access back.

Pamkev, it depends on the bank *and* whether you will be bk-ing any debt with your bank. We did not lose access but we had no debt with our bank either.
        ~~ Filed Over Median Income Chapter 7: 12/17/2010 ~~ 341 Held: 1/12/2011 ~~ Discharged: 03/16/2011 ~~
        Not an attorney - just an opinionated woman.

Comment

Originally posted by ValleYum View Post