Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me make sense of my first Collection Letter

(I'm a Texas resident.)

I got a letter today from I.C. System, Inc. in St. Paul, Minnesota regarding a past-due Washington Mutual (Providian) account I have.

The letter states "Your account is past due and has been referred by Washington Mutual to our agency for collection."

It gives me 30 days to dispute the validity of the debt and I'm trying to decide what's the smartest thing to do since I don't exepct to file for a while yet.

I'm a guessing that this company has been contracted by Washington Mutual and the debt has not been transferred or sold to them. The most important clue is that they ask me to make my check payable to Washington Mutual and mail it to a Washington Mutual P.O. Box in Dallas.

Under Texas Finance Code, Title 5 -- Protection of Consumers of Finincial Services, Chapter 392 -- Debt Collection, there's some interesting protections that seem to apply to me.

(Subchapter B) Bond Requirement
    392.101 (a) requires that the company is bonded in the state.

Should I demand proof that they're operating in Texas legally?

(Subchapter D) Prohibited Debt Collection Methods
    392.304 Fraudulent, Deceptive, or Misleading Representations.

(a) Except as otherwise provided by this section, in debt collection or obtaining information concerning a consumer, a debt collector may not use a fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading representation that employs the following practices:

(18) representing that a consumer debt is being collected by an independent, bona fide organization engaged in the business of collecting past due accounts when the debt is being collected by a subterfuge organization under the control and direction of the person who is owed the debt;

Has this debt actually been transferred to a collection agency, or are they using the agency's name in a deceptive way to scare me and get me to pay the debt directly to themselves?