top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Capital One - something fishy going on? (re:SOL + re-aging)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Capital One - something fishy going on? (re:SOL + re-aging)

I have a very small debt with Capital One from a credit card. The principle amount was probably $250. I've noticed for the last six months I've been getting statements which make it appear that the account is actually active. It's not or isn't supposed to be. They charged it off years ago and closed the account.

I know that the card was last used or paid around 2006/early 2007 so I know it's very close to the SOL in my jurisdiction. I'm wondering if this is a collection tactic they are using or perhaps if they are just re-aging and re-opening accounts to avoid the SOL expiration. FWIW, I have not checked my credit report lately to see. I'm just curious if others have seen this?
    Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer nor giving legal advice. Use at your own risk.

I posted a similar issue with C1. I am also getting statements for the account and balance owing. My accounts are all beyond the 3 year Virginia SOL. Oregon has a "choice of law" statute, so Virginia is my choice. Virginia was also the state listed in my credit card agreement.

I think it is a bit strange that they would continue to send monthly statements. I started getting the statements about three years after last payment.

Comment

Originally posted by treehugger1 View Post
      I posted a similar issue with C1. I am also getting statements for the account and balance owing. My accounts are all beyond the 3 year Virginia SOL. Oregon has a "choice of law" statute, so Virginia is my choice. Virginia was also the state listed in my credit card agreement.

I think it is a bit strange that they would continue to send monthly statements. I started getting the statements about three years after last payment.