No announcement yet.

Foreclosure complaint has request for deficiency judgment & writ of possession

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Foreclosure complaint has request for deficiency judgment & writ of possession

Was reading over Bank of America's foreclosure complaint and noticed it's requesting the court to order the entry of a deficiency judgment if the court ordered sale is insufficient to satisfy the Plaintiff's claim.

It's also requesting the court to order delivery and possession of the property, and all Defendants (including tenants) to vacate and surrender possession and the clerk to issue a writ of possession without further order of the court.

Neither of these things provide for due process. A deficiency judgment requires a whole 'nuther lawsuit. And the Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act means the tenants get to stay til the end of their lease.

So are these requests normal in a foreclosure complaint??
    I'm not a lawyer, but here's a link to my favorite bankruptycy law blog: http://www.bankruptcyorlando.com/

Umm, that complaint IS your due process. If you don't agree with what they are asking, then the burden is on you to contest the matter.

Big picture, the U.S. system of justice is adversarial (both in civil and criminal context). The court is merely an arbiter of disputes. If no one disputes what is being claimed, then that party wins.

The complaint is probably standard form language. But realize, the burden is on you to enforce any rights you think you might have.

Comment

Most of the lenders have you sign documents that give them a non-judicial foreclosure. You more than likely signed away most all of your rights when you borrowed the money.
      All information contained in this post is for informational and amusement purposes only.
      Bankruptcy is a process, not an event.......

Comment