how bad did i screw up?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how bad did i screw up?

I filed for bankruptcy (chapter 7) earlier this year, but did not include my mortgage in the bankruptcy because I didn't want to leave the house. Also, I didn't think I would have any trouble paying the mortgage after eliminating my other debts. That was then...

Now my income has dropped significantly (I work in sales and there aren't a lot of sales to be made with the current state of the economy) and so I'm unable to afford my mortgage payments. What options do I have? Since I just recently filed for bankruptcy, I can't file again... but the only reason I didn't include my mortgage on my bankruptcy and walk away then was because I thought I'd be able to make it.

I'm really underwater on the house too... I just wish I could walk away from it, but I don't think I can do that without filing my mortgage under my bankruptcy and it's too late for that. What are my options?

Did you reaffirm or just ride through?

Comment

could you please explain how you avoided placing your house in your BK? ALL debts have to be included in filing...

Comment

Originally posted by qwerty999 View Post
        I filed for bankruptcy (chapter 7) earlier this year, but did not include my mortgage in the bankruptcy because I didn't want to leave the house. Also, I didn't think I would have any trouble paying the mortgage after eliminating my other debts. That was then...

Now my income has dropped significantly (I work in sales and there aren't a lot of sales to be made with the current state of the economy) and so I'm unable to afford my mortgage payments. What options do I have? Since I just recently filed for bankruptcy, I can't file again... but the only reason I didn't include my mortgage on my bankruptcy and walk away then was because I thought I'd be able to make it.