Invalid Assignment defense

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Invalid Assignment defense

I have been fighting foreclosure for close to 4 years.

It has gone full circle, and after my answering the summons and complaint, they, the bank have gone ahead with a motion for summary judgement.

To be very brief, in my case, there were two assignments in question. On the very same day, there were two simultaneous recordings, the first being from Mers to One West, the second from One West to Deutsche bank.

Here is where my case lies. Both of the assignments were signed by the same person. The person who acted as vice president of Mers on the first assignment, also acted as the vice president of One West on the second assignment. This is almost is identical to the Silverberg case, where the motion was denied on standing.

Has anyone had this happen in their case, and does anyone see the bank as having anything for this? Seems like the definition of self dealing to me.
    Last edited by AngelinaCat; 07-17-2012, 06:18 PM. Reason: to make this post easier to read. The size and bold formatting does not help.
    Filed Chap 7 Pro Se 11/09
    Discharged 4/10

In the end, they just need to show up with the actual Promissory Note with the property endorsements. The promissory note is a bearer instrument if it is endorsed "in blank". You have to remember, that the "assignment" is only to protect other creditors, not the person who took out the mortgage (the mortgagor).

As for Silverberg and other cases like it, the dismissal is based on the finding that MERS could never have assigned the mortgage since it never actually "held" the mortgage. In the past, the mortgages would be foreclosed in the name of MERS and the lender would physically send that blank endorsed mortgage to MERS so that they physically had it.