Name on mom's bank account

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Name on mom's bank account

My husband is on his elderly mom's bank account and I am on my mom's. I have never written a check for my mom and he very rarely does for his. They are both worried that something will happen and they will be hospitalized or something and not able to see about some bill or business which is why they did this. Neither one has very much in their accounts, they both get social security checks only and around a thousand dollars a month each goes in to the accounts. Is this an issue for us? I understand technically it is an access to money. We can remove ourselves if we need to.

I am not an expert this is my opinion. Are you going to pursue bankruptcy or are you in at this time? Before we had our bankruptcy I took my name off my young adult daughter's account otherwise there could be a question if it was also or part my money (which it was not I just did what my parents did have an extra person on the account "just incase")

With your parents you could have legal paperwork drawn up so if they are not able to access the money you can be their financial power of attorney and it's probably also wise to have a health care power of attorney if they become incapacitated.