Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice ??

Hello Everyone,
    I had previously posted some information about wanting to file bankruptcy. Without going through all of that. Today I made an appointment and went in to see a third opinion type thing for me. Well, I really like this guy and think that he would work out great. However, we went over some of the details of my case. I explained I had a vehicle that I have been paying on for two years now and will have paid off in March or April of 2008. The title is not in my name it is in the guy who originally bought it. His interest rate is 1% which is way better than I could even imagine getting. He repossed it from his daughter and sold it to me bill of sale until my payments are done then we transfer the title into my name. My relationship with him is ex coworker. We have had no problems or issues with this agreement at all. I am looking forward to owning it myself soon. However, according to the attorney today this could be considered unsecured debit. And he could be forced to pay me all the monies back that I have put into the car because technically I do not own the car. I kinda sorta understand that but then I don't. I mean I have a bill of sale which clearly states that the car is to be held in his name until pay off at which time the title will be transferred into my name. This is a legal and binding document, because I am able to use it to get my registration and tags renewed every year and I am able to obtain insurance coverage with it. The attorney was stumped and said he didn't know how to advise me and wasn't sure if he would infarct recommend bankruptcy. He said he would call me back and let me know something after he received counsel. Anyone ever run across this problem? Have any advice?
    Thanks for the Help!
    Last edited by BassBoy; 02-06-2007, 06:44 AM. Reason: Changed text size
    ~You should always check the source otherwise its just a Tabloid"~Tahnya