legal name change after bankruptcy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

legal name change after bankruptcy

I will be filing in the fall or spring, and had a question. I am going to be taking the a last name from my father's side for personal/ethical/family reasons. If I file bankruptcy does that mean i will not be able to legally change my name after it is closed (would they look at that as attempted fraud or something?) Probably a dumb question I know, but I don't want to do anything to jeopardize the proceedings... I live in MN.

I don't know how the trustee or court may view a name change right before or during your bankruptcy cae. However, if you can avoid changing your last name until after your bk case is finished and closed, then there's no worries about changing your name at that point.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

I changed my name and my credit and everything stayed the same. As long as you inform them. Its just a name, not like you can create a whole new identity.

Good Luck, Catchmeifyoucan
      July 2006: Filed Ch13 :blink:
      Oct 2006: Converted to Ch7 :clapping:
      Jan 2007: DISCHARGED :clapping:
      Nov 2007: CLOSED :yahoo::yahoo::yahoo:

Comment

Name change after bankruptcy

I was just wondering if anyone did change their name and how it worked out. I was looking at the paper work and it talked about having a lawyer. Did anyone represent themselves and is there any advice you can give. I am also from MN.

Comment