BK didn't discharge due to attorney not turning in a document

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BK didn't discharge due to attorney not turning in a document

My Bankruptcy had been smooth sailing up until this point. I'll try to make a long story short. I took my predischarge class on September 18. The place where I took the class from emailed them my certificate on that same day.

I assumed my attorney had the certificate (yes I should have double checked with them...MS cog problems mest me up big time this time). But, I feel as if they should have had some sort of checklist before the discharge. I am paying them big bucks to make sure everything is getting done correctly, right?

Before I got sick, I was a Realtor. I had a checklist of documents that I needed to make sure we had before we could close successfully. I felt as if that was part of what my clients were paying me for.

I had to pay 260 bucks for them to have them reopen my case (they said it should close the same day). I have a big problem paying this. Partly because I don't have the money to do so, and partly because I feel as if my attorney (rather his assistant) was in error. Of course, it's no skin off their back if it gets paid or not, they already got their 1200 bucks.

I asked them if they would pay for it, or at least go halves with me, but I haven't received a response. The assistant/secretary said they had 100's of clients and couldn't possibly keep track of those things. Makes me feel small.

So, what's your opinion? I know I cannot make them pay. And, for my own peace of mind I may just have to let it go.

Thanks for any input.
    Last edited by Shalynn; 12-23-2007, 01:23 PM.
    Filed August 31, 2007
    341 Meeting October 10, 2007