HELOC question for a friend

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELOC question for a friend

We don't personally have a HELOC, so I can't answer this question for her, so I thought maybe you'd know.

If you file bankruptcy, and have a HELOC, will the bank go after the house if you try to keep it?
    CJ
    341 on 8/3, determined NO ASSET
    60 day wait was over on 10/3/08. Discharged 12/23/08

I'm trying to understand the question. Is the perosn filing chapter 7? Heloc is a secured debt. More than likely, she will be responsible for the debt if her intentions are to keep the house and she'll have to reaffirm on that debt.

I'm not a lawyer but work for one doing chapter 7's
    Get copy of Bankruptcy Records

Comment

I guess her plan would be to file Ch7 and keep the house(I don't know why, she can't afford it - but that's another story). I figured she's still be responsible for the credit line since it's secured, but I wanted to ask to see if anyone here knows.

Thanks!
      CJ

Comment

If she plans on keeping the house and is current on payments than no the bank should not go after the house as she is current on her payments.
        Chp 7 Filled 2-21-08
        341 Hearing 3-24-08

Comment

It's unfortunate your friend is trying to keep a home that is beyond her means. Once she files, if the home overwhelms her financially she can't use bankruptcy to wipe out the mortgage deficits. Hopefully you can discuss this and show the error of her ways.

It's hard when emotions are involved - it's tough to see a home with memories and dreams as just a financial decision. This is one of the reasons why the mortgage crisis reached the proportions it has. People do anything to get into a home and keep it, even when it's not in their best financial interests in the long run.
          Last edited by lrprn; 03-24-2008, 09:16 PM.
          I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.