Should we file chapter 7?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question Should we file chapter 7?

New to the forums - lots of info here...

Here are our personal details as I feel they relate to a possible BK, feel free to give your personal opinion if we should file BK (or not), and the timing. If more info is needed or you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

1) I am a finance manager in the auto industry (15 yrs experience). DW is a homemaker. We have 5 children ranging in age from 2-13.

2) I have earned a large income for many years (but did not save), then that started to decrease rapidly in Sept of last year. In Early November my employer unexpectedly discharged me... I was on unemployment until mid January. I have never been without work in my life before - Prior to the economic downturn, I was usually getting a call every month or two if I want to make a change for more money (I was with my previous employer for 3+ years).

3) Since returning to work, it looks like I will be averaging $6-7000/mo in income, which is about half of what I was making a year ago... In July it could be as much as $9-10,000/mo or more, but it depends on how many vehicles the dealerships sells.

4) Spoke to an attorney who does ch7 and ch7 only (his fee is only $400 also), based on an intial phone interview, he indicated I would likely qualify for a 7, as the basis for qualification is a $98000 annual income cutoff (based on an average of the last 6 months income).

5) 1st mortgage is in pre-forclosue (~14000 in arrears, 5 months), 2nd mortgage is 75 days behind (~900). Currently we have a strong desire to keep the home, if our modification request can be granted. There is little equity there though, so I suppose we could leave it and rent if there is no other choice.

6) 4 auto loans / leases
    i) Leased liesure vehicle 38000 owed, 25000 value - $422/mo payment and I have someone willing to take over the lease if I pay $2300 in back payments